top of page

INTERVIEW - CHEF LORENZO

Lorenzo, 27 years old and a great passion for cooking: exclusive interview with an Italian in Busan


1. Introduce yourself to our readers (name, age, city of origin, study path, job, etc.).


My name is Lorenzo, I was born in Rome. I’m 27 years old and I am a chef. I started working

when I was 18 after taking the linguistic degree finishing the last year in a night school since

in the morning I went to help make preparations in a restaurant (obviously I was not paid

😅).

In short, It was a mess!





2. How did your passion for cooking start?


It all started when I saw my paternal grandmother work in the kitchen.

In my early years I was mostly raised by her, as my parents both had to work. I remember

that I was always fascinated by the different scents coming from the kitchen. Seeing her

cook was a gesture of love.


3. How long have you been living in Korea? Was Busan the first korean city you lived

in?


I’ve lived in Korea for a year now and I have only lived in Busan although I visited Seoul and

Jeju Island for vacation. Jeju is a well-known location where Koreans go to spend their

holidays especially in summer.



4. What are the main differences between working in an Italian restaurant in Korea

from working in a restaurant in Italy?


The biggest difference between Korean and Italian restaurants lies in the organization of

work in the kitchen.

In Italy, the different tasks are divided based on the so-called "brigade", a group of cooks to

which a department is entrusted to take care of. The brigade also includes dishwashers.

In most Korean restaurants this division does not exist, everyone has to do everything. The

chefs must cook, wash dishes etc...There is no division into departments.


5. What are the cultural differences that you noticed immediately between Italy and

Korea?


The cultural differences between Italy and Korea are enormous, we could talk about these

for days. The most obvious difference is that it is very difficult to express one's true

personality, while Italians are very open and expressive, Koreans tend to keep everything

inside.

It's hard for anyone to really tell you how they feel when you ask "how are you?"


6. Which Italian dish do you like to cook the most?


I am a great lover of risotto and I also have a lot of fun cooking meat, especially beef.


7. Did you ever have to make changes to make your dishes more pleasing to the

Korean palate? If so, can you give us some examples?


The biggest taste obstacle at the beginning was definitely the salt. They have a very different

conception of flavor from ours because they often use marinades or sauces instead of table

salt to salt dishes so I had to adapt my palate to theirs.


8. Are there similarities between Korean and Italian cuisine?


The only similarity between Korean and Italian cuisine is the conviviality of the meal. For

them as well as for us, sitting in front of a table to eat and drink with other people is

something sacred and conviviality must be honored.


9. What is your favorite Korean dish?


There are so many dishes that I love about Korean cuisine but among all of them there are

soups. They are true masters in preparing them.


10. Is there a Korean ingredient that you like or you think goes well with the Italian

cuisine?


My favorite Korean ingredient is the inevitable kimchi or fermented Chinese cabbage that is

used as an accompaniment to meat or fish but also in soups.

A typical Korean ingredient that might go well with the Italian cuisine is the yuja, very similar

to our orange.



INSTAGRAM:



19 visualizzazioni0 commenti

Post recenti

Mostra tutti

INTERVISTA JUNNY

𝗔𝗯𝗯𝗶𝗮𝗺𝗼 𝗶𝗻𝘁𝗲𝗿𝘃𝗶𝘀𝘁𝗮𝘁𝗼 𝗝𝘂𝗻𝗻𝘆, uno dei cantautori più popolari del momento. JUNNY è anche produttore/co-produttore...

Comentarios


bottom of page